How to Become a Licensed Counselor in Arkansas
Qualified counselors are in demand all over America, and the state of Arkansas is no exception. According to Discover Arkansas, the state is expected to experience a 22.1 percent growth in the counseling industry through the year 2018. This is great news for future Arkansas counselors, since a higher demand typically equates to better positions and more attractive compensation. Those who are interested in becoming a counselor in Arkansas must meet all the criteria for licensure set forth by the state.
Education Requirements for Becoming a Counselor in Arkansas
Future counselors in the state of Arkansas must have at least a Master’s degree in counseling or a related field. The state requires that the counseling program must meet the requirements of the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP), so programs that are accredited by this specific agency are a good choice. At least 60 semester credit hours are required.
|Education Requirements||Education Length||Available Programs|
|Undergraduate Work||Earn a Bachelor's Degree in Counseling||4 Years||Online or Campus|
|Graduate Work||Earn a Master's Degree in Counseling||5-6 Years||Online or Campus|
|PHD or Doctoral Work||Earn a Doctorate in Counseling||7-8 Years||Online or Campus|
Supervised Professional Practice Requirements
The state of Arkansas requires that individuals obtain at least 3 or more years of supervised professional experience after obtaining their Master’s degree. This experience is designed to assist the future counselor in assisting patients and dealing with scenarios of all kinds. The supervisor must be a licensed professional counselor approved by the board, and internships do not count.
Those who have completed at least 30 credit hours of counseling-related post-masters coursework can substitute those hours for one year of supervised experience, up to a maximum of two year’s credit. Of the required 3,200 hours of supervised work, 1,600 hours must be in direct client contact.
Examination Requirements to Become a Counselor in Arkansas
Applicants for licensure in the state of Arkansas must complete two examinations: the written examination and the oral examination. The board will accept passing scores from the National Counselor Examination for Licensure and Certification (NCE) administered by the National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC) for the written examination. The oral examination will be administered by the Arkansas Board of Examiners in Counseling (ABEC) and can be scheduled after completion of the NCE examination.
Becoming a Counselor in Arkansas
After completing all of the requirements set forth by Arkansas law, you must submit an application to the ABEC along with a $200 non-refundable application fee. There are other requirements, such as submitting to a criminal background check, in order to be considered for licensure. Upon approval by the board, a separate licensing fee will be required. Licensed must be renewed regularly in order to maintain validity.
Note: For more information on how to become a counselor in Arkansas, please visit the ABEC website.
Salary and Occupation Information for Counselors in Arkansas
There are a variety of different types of counselors within the state of Arkansas, and information about them is collected by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. In May of 2012, there were approximately 480 substance abuse and behavioral disorder counselors, 2,180 educational counselors, 670 mental health counselors and 350 rehabilitation counselors employed in Arkansas.
These professionals earned annual median salaries of $36,030 to $53,510. The actual salary of a counselor in Arkansas will differ depending upon location, experience and the branch of counseling they go in to.
Research Additional Psychology Professional Licenses Granted by Arkansas:
- Arkansas Psychologist Licensing
- Arkansas Social Work Licensing
- Arkansas Marriage and Family Therapist Licensing
- Explore Additional Counseling Careers