intern

Internships in Psychology

Finding an Internship that your passionate about is extremely important in the field of psychology.

When considering a Masters or Doctorate in Psychology educational facilities want to see that your actively trying to involve yourself in the community and the field of Psychology.

We have compiled a database of US Internships and Canadian Internships. For Canadian internships see our Canadian Internships page.

Below is a list of currently available Internships and Volunteer Opportunities in the United States:

If you have an additional listing and would like to have it listed here, please contact us at jon@careersinpsychology.org.

Alabama

Internships

Psychological and Counseling Associates, PC
Belvia Matthews, Ph.D.
psy_counseling@knology.net
Huntsville, AL
(256) 837-2127

Tuscaloosa VA Medical Center
Kristin L. Williams, Ph.D.
kristin.lester@va.gov
(205) 554-2000 Ext. 2415

Volunteer Opportunities

Alaska

Internships

Alaska Psychology Internship Consortium
John R. DeRuyter, Psy.D
jderuyter@hopecounselingcenter.org
(907) 451-8208

Alaska VA Healthcare System
Douglas R. McQueen, Ph.D.
douglas.mcqueen2@va.gov
(907) 257-3739

Alaska Psychology Internship Consortium
John R. DeRuyter, Psy.D
jderuyter@hopecounselingcenter.org
(907) 451-8208

Volunteer Opportunities

Arizona

Internships

Arizona State Hospital
Kimi A. Cohen, Ph.D.
cohenk@azdhs.gov
(602) 220-6367

Phoenix Children’s Hospital
John Barton, Ph.D. jbarton@phoenixchildrens.com
(602) 933-0414

Southwest Behavioral Health Services
Deborah Partington, Psy.D.
debrap@sbhservices.org
(602) 525-3269

Volunteer Opportunities

Arkansas

Internships

South Arkansas Regional Health Center
David A. Margolis, Ph.D.
dmargolis@sarhc.org
(870) 862-7921

Arkansas Behavioral Health, State Hospital
Hillary R. Hunt, Ph.D.
hillary.hunt@arkansas.gov
Little Rock, AR
(501) 686-9602

Central Arkansas Veterans Healthcare System
Garrett Andrews, Psy.D.
garrett.andrews@va.gov
(501) 257-1684

Volunteer Opportunities

California

Internships

Anka Behavioral Health Inc. Northern California
Natasha L. Coleman, Psy.D.
ncoleman@ankabhi.org
(925) 825-4700

Casa Pacifica
Sean Schoneman, Ph.D.
MPoltl@casapacifica.org
(805) 484-7109

Center for Aging Resources
Janet A. Yang, Ph.D.
jyang@cfar1.org
(626) 577-8480

Children’s Institute, Inc.
George Bermudez, Ph.D.
gbermudez@childrensinstitute.org
(213) 385-5100 Ext. 1812

Volunteer Opportunities

Colorado

Internships

Aurora Community Mental Health Center
Jeffrey M. Longo, Ph.D.
JeffLongo@aumhc.org
(303) 617-2408

Behavioral Health Services
Christopher Sheldon, Ph.D.
chris.sheldon@dhha.org
(303) 436-6341

COLORADO MH/INST. FORENSIC PSYCH
Jose Vega
Jose.Vega@state.co.us
Pueblo, CO
(719) 546-4552

Volunteer Opportunities

Connecticut

Internships

Child Guidance Center of Southern Connecticut
Larry M. Rosenberg, Ph.D.
generalmailbox@childguidancect.org
Stamford, CT
(203) 324-6127

Institute of Living/ Hartford Hospital
James C. DeGiovanni, Ph.D.
jdegiov@harthosp.org
(860) 545-7167

Yale, Child Study Center
Michele Goyette-Ewing, Ph.D.
Michele.Goyette-Ewing@yale.edu
(203) 785-6227

Volunteer Opportunities

Delaware

Internships

Delaware Division of Prevention and Behavioral Health Services/Terry Children’s Psychiatric Center
Aileen Fink, Ph.D.
Aileen.Fink@state.de.us
(302) 256-5601

Center for Counseling and Student Development
Merris A. Hollingsworth, Ph.D., ABPP
Cynthia.Carroll@udel.edu
(302) 831-8107

Volunteer Opportunities

Florida

Internships

Center for Group Counseling
Holly Katz, Ph.D.
center@groupcounseling.org
Boca Raton, FL

Volunteer Opportunities

Georgia

Internships

Hawaii

Internships

University of Hawai’i at Mānoa’s Counseling Psychology Internship
Contact- Allyson M. Tanouye, Ph.D.
(808) 956-7927

The Department of Psychology at Tripler Army Medical Center
Clinical Psychology Internship Program
Major Brian O’Leary
Email:brian.d.oleary@us.army.mil
832.284.408

Honolulu Psychology Internship Program
Allison C. Aosved, Ph.D
(808) 433-0322

Volunteer Opportunities

Idaho

Internships

Family Crisis Center
Richard B. Cluff, Ph.D.
cluffr@byui.edu
(208) 496-1349

Madison Middle School Counseling Aides
Eric Gee, Ph.D.
geee@byui.edu

BHC Psychology Department Internship
Barbra Sharp
sharpb@byui.edu
(208) 496-4070

VA Boise Healthcare System
Jill Hedt, Ph.D.
VA Healthcare System
Boise, ID
(208) 422-1000 x 4205
Jill.Hedt2@va.gov

Volunteer Opportunities

Illinois

Internships

Illinois School Psychology Internship Consortium
Brenda J. Huber, PhD, ABPP
309-438-7407

Psychology Internship of the University of Illinois
Marc Atkins, Ph.D
internship@psych.uic.edu

The Family Institute at Northwestern University Undergrad Internship Program
contactus@family-institute.org
847-733-4300

Childrens Memorial Hospital
Karen R. Gouze, PhD
EMMartinez@childrensmemorial.org
202.336.5500

Volunteer Opportunities


Indiana

Internships

Indiana University School Of Medicine
Rita Roush
rjroush@iupui.edu
(317)274-2375

Ball State University Counseling Center
Pei-Yi Lin, Ph.D
plin@bsu.edu
(765) 285-1262

Federal Bureau of Prisons – FCC Terre Haut
Jacqueline Cranmer, Psy.D.
jcranmer@bop.gov
(812) 244-4685

Volunteer Opportunities

Iowa

Internships

Iowa State University Student Counseling Service
Jon Brandon, Ph.D.
(515) 294-5056
jbrandon@iastate.edu

Iowa University Counseling Service
Julie M. Corkery, Ph.D.
julie-corkery@uiowa.edu
(319) 335-7294

VA Central Iowa Healthcare System
John F. Wallace, Ph.D.
john.wallace4@va.gov
(515) 699-5999 Ext. 4905

Volunteer Opportunities

Kansas

Internships

Family Service and Guidance Center, Inc.
Thomas S. Bartlett, Psy.D
tbartlett@fsgctopeka.com
(785) 234-4853

Larned State Hospital
Thomas J. Kinlen, Ph.D.
(620) 285-4674
tom.kinlen@lsh.ks.gov


Wichita Collaborative Psychology Internship Program

Maureen Dasey-Morales, Ph.D.
maureen.dasey-morales@wichita.edu
(316) 978-3440

Volunteer Opportunities

Kentucky

Internships

Jefferson County (KY) Internship Consortium
dfinke@sevencounties.org
David L. Finke, Ph.D.
(502) 589-8731

VMAC Lexington Mental Health Service
Christiane N. Schneider, Ph.D.
Christiane.Schneider@va.gov
(859) 233-4511 Ext. 3443

Kentucky Department of Corrections
Deborah Coleman
deborah.coleman@ky.gov
(502) 222-9441 Ext. 4036

Volunteer Opportunities

Louisiana

Internships

Pinecrest Supports & Services Center
Troy Raffield, Ph.D.
Pineveille, LA
troy.raffield@la.gov
(318) 641-2258

Louisiana School Psychology Internship Consortium
George W. Hebert, Ph.D.
New Orleans, LA
gheber@lsuhsc.edu
(504) 556-7566

Southern Louisiana Internship Consortium
Christopher D. Garner, Psy.D.
cdgarner@lsu.edu
(225) 578-8774

Volunteer Opportunities

Maine

Internships

Goodwill Industries of Northern New England
Brian W. Ablitz, Psy.D.
brian.ablitz@goodwillnne.org
(207) 795-6110

Riverview Psychiatric Center
Elizabeth D. Houghton-Faryna, Psy.D.
elizabeth.houghton-faryna@maine.gov
(207) 624-3982

Togus VA Medical Cente
Erica L. England, Ph.D.
Augusta, ME
erica.england@va.gov
207) 623-5791

Volunteer Opportunities

Massachusetts

Internships

Boston Consortium in Clinical Psychology
Boston, MA
R. Keith Shaw, Ph.D.
Keith.Shaw@va.gov
(857) 364-4074

Carson Center for Human Services
Westfield, MA
David A. Arbeitman, Ph.D.
darbeitman@carsoncenter.org
(413) 568-6141

Community Services Institute
James S. Sacco, Ed.D.
Springfield, MA
James.Sacco@CommunityServ.com
(413) 739-5572

Volunteer Opportunities

Maryland

Internships

Malcolm Grow USAF Medical Clinic (MGMC)
Rowan, B. Anderson, Ph.D.
anderson.rowan@afncr.af.mil
(240) 857-8942

Mount Washington Pediatric Hospital
Kenneth M. Gelfand, Ph.D.
kgelfand@mwph.org
(410) 578-8600 x5080

Walter Reed National Military Medical Center
John D. Yeaw, Psy.D., ABPP
john.david.yeaw@us.army.mil
(301) 295-0500

Volunteer Opportunities

Michigan

Internships

Children’s Hospital of Michigan
Arthur L. Robin, Ph.D.
arobin@med.wayne.edu
(313) 966-0602

Pine Rest Christian Mental Health Services
Brant VanOrman, Psy.D.
brant.vanorman@pinerest.org
(616) 281-6382

Venture Psychology Internship Consortium
Lori Ryland, Ph.D.
lar@summitpointe.org
(269) 979-9132 x315

Volunteer Opportunities

Minnesota

Internships

Arrowhead Psychological Clinic, P.A.
David B. Plude, Psy.D.
drdave@mnpsych.com
(218) 723-8153

Hamm Clinic
Robert Mantell, Ph.D.
bmantell@hammclinic.org
(651) 224-0614

Minnesota Department of Corrections
Terry B. Jorgenson, Psy.D.
Terry.Jorgenson@state.mn.us
(651) 779-2780

Volunteer Opportunities

Mississippi

Internships

Mississippi State Hospital
John Askew, Ph.D.
john.askew@msh.state.ms.us
(601) 351-8010

Pine Grove Behavioral Health & Addiction Services
Theresa Ratti, Ph.D.
tratti@forrestgeneral.com
(601) 288-4934

VA Gulf Coast Veterans Health Care System
Jane Varner, Ph.D.
jane.varner@va.gov
(228) 523-5045

Volunteer Opportunities

Missouri

Internships

Children’s Mercy Hospital
Rochelle Harris, Ph.D., ABPP
rharris@cmh.edu
(816) 234-3674

St. Louis Psychology Internship Consortium
Deana L. Smith, Ph.D.
deana.smith@umsl.edu
(314) 516-5824

U.S. Medical Center for Federal Prisoners
Richart L. DeMier, Ph.D., ABPP
rdemier@bop.gov
(417) 862-7041 x1277

Volunteer Opportunities

Montana

Internships

Montana State University, Bozeman
Cheryl R. Blank, Ph.D.
wwwcc@montana.edu
(406) 994-4531

Volunteer Opportunities

Nebraska

Internships

Nebraska Internship Consortium in Professional Psychology
Susan M. Swearer, Ph.D.
anespor2@unl.edu
(402) 472-1152

Nebraska Mental Health Centers – Psychology Internship Program
Leland Zlomke, Ph.D.
lzlomke@nmhc-clinics.com
(402) 483-6990

Volunteer Opportunities

New Mexico

Internships

New Mexico State University
Maria Arizaga, Ph.D.
counsel@nmsu.edu
(575) 646-2731

University of New Mexico Division of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry
Mary Kaven, Ph.D.
psychologyinternship@salud.unm.edu
(505) 272-5002

New Mexico Veterans Affairs Health Care System
Evelyn Sandeen, Ph.D., ABPP
Albuquerque, NM
evelyn.sandeen@va.gov
(505) 265-1711 Ext. 3283

Volunteer Opportunities

New York

Internships

Albany Psychology Internship Consortium
Robert O. Hubbell, Psy.D
(518) 262-5511
hubbelr@mail.amc.edu

Andrus Children’s Center
Jonathan C. Cohen, Ph.D
jcohen@jdam.org
(914) 949-7680 Ext. 2210
White Plains, NY

Association for the Help of Retarded Children
David J. Louick, Ph.D.
david.louick@ahrcnyc.org
(212) 780-2578
New York, NY

Astor Services for Children & Families
Athena A. Drewes, Psy.D.
adrewes@astorservices.org
(845) 673-4260 Ext. 232
Middletown, NY

Creedmoor Psychiatric Center
Andrea L. Katz, Ph.D.
Andrea.Katz@omh.ny.gov
(718) 264-4423
Queens Village, NY

Volunteer Opportunities

North Carolina

Internships

Broughton Hospital
Jim Moore, Ph.D.
jim.moore@dhhs.nc.gov
Morganton, NC
(828) 433-2564

Federal Correctional Complex
Robert E. Cochrane, Psy.D.
rcochrane@bop.gov
(919) 575-3900 Ext. 5466
Butner, NC

North Carolina Department of Correction
Jessica Medford, Psy.D.
(828) 757-5738
john.monguillot@doc.nc.gov
Lenoir, NC

University of North Carolina Campus Health Service
Meredith J. Mayer, Ph.D.
Meredith_Mayer@unc.edu
(919) 966-3658

Volunteer Opportunities

North Dakota

Internships

Southeast Human Service Center
Sara Quam, Psy.D.
squam@nd.gov
(701) 298-4500
Fargo, ND

Standing Rock Psychology Internship Program
Johna C. Hartnell, Ph.D.
ohna.hartnell@ihs.gov
(701) 854-8276
Fort Yates, ND

University of North Dakota Counseling Center
Rhandi Clow, Ph.D.
und.ucctd@email.und.edu
(701) 777-2127
Grand Forks, ND

Volunteer Opportunities

Ohio

Internships

Applewood Centers, Inc
Valerie J. Gortmaker, Ph.D.
(216) 696-5800 Ext. 1146
www.applewoodcenters.org
Cleveland, Ohio

Daily Behavioral Health
Cara M. Daily, Ph.D.
caradaily@gmail.com
(216) 252-1399

Mid-Ohio Psychological Services, Inc
Sonya N. Slater, Psy.D.
sonyaslater@mopsohio.com
(614) 751-0042
Columbus , OH

Volunteer Opportunities

Oklahoma

Internships

Northeastern Oklahoma Psychology Internship Program
Samina Christopher Ph.D.
schristopher@odmhsas.org
(918) 713-5596

Oklahoma Health Consortium
Karen S. Vaughn, Ph.D.
(405) 325-2700
kvaughn@ou.edu
Norman, OK

The University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
Russell L. Adams, Ph.D.
russell-adams@ouhsc.edu
(405) 271-8802
Oklahoma City, OK

Volunteer Opportunities

Oregon

Internships

George Fox Behavioral Health Clinic
Joel A. Gregor,Psy.D.
jogregor@georgefox.edu
(503) 554-2367
Newberg, OR

Morrison Child and Family Services
Joyce Ochsner, Ph.D
joyce.ochsner@morrisonkids.org
(503) 258-4627
Gresham, OR

Western Psychological and Counseling Services
Joni Moon, Psy.D.
jonimoon@hotmail.com
(503) 253-4600
Portland, OR

Volunteer Opportunities

Pennsylvania

Internships

Assessment & Treatment Alternatives
William F. Russell, Ph.D.
wrussell@dca.net
(215) 405-2100
Philadelphia, PA

Devereux Foundation
Barry L. McCurdy, Ph.D.
bmccurdy@devereux.org
(610) 542-3123
Villanova, PA

Holcomb Behavioral Health Systems
Sarah Stookey, Ph.D.
(610) 363-1488
sstookey@holcombbhs.org
Exton, PA

Volunteer Opportunities

Tennessee

Internships

Cherokee Health Systems
Parinda Khatri, Ph.D.
parinda.khatri@cherokeehealth.com
(865) 544-0406
Knoxville , TN

Tennessee Internship Consortium in Psychology
Jerome H. Morton, Ph.D.
littletnvalley@bellsouth.net
(865) 458-8900
Knoxville, TN

Frontier Health Services
Diane L. Whitehead, Ph.D.
dwhitehead@frontierhealth.org
(423) 276-8549
Greeneville, TN

Volunteer Opportunities

Texas

Internships

Applied Psychology Group of Texoma
James R. Harrison, Ph.D.
jim.harrison@apgtexoma.com
(903) 893-0298
Sherman, TX

Brooke Army Medical Center
Deborah A. Engerran, Psy.D.
deb.engerran@amedd.army.mil
(210) 471-1647
Fort Sam Houston, TX

Federal Correctional Institution
Pamela Morris, Ph.D.
pmorris@bop.gov
(817) 413-3130
Fort Worth, TX

Harris County Juvenile Probation Department
Nicole Dorsey, Ph.D.
nicole.dorsey@hcjpd.hctx.net
(713) 222-4257
Houston, TX

Lone Star Psychology Residency Consortium
Joseph McCoy , Ph.D.
Edinburg, TX
(956) 682-0385

Volunteer Opportunities

Utah

Internships

The Children’s Center
Douglas Goldsmith, Ph.D.
DGoldsmith@tccslc.org
(801) 582-5534

Valley Mental Health
Liz McGill, Ph.D.
lizm@vmh.com
(801) 264-2300

Wasatch Mental Health
Randal S. Pennington, Psy.D.
(801) 373-4760

Volunteer Opportunities

Vermont

Internships

Norwich University
Melvin E. Miller, Ph.D.
miller@norwich.edu
(802) 485-2134
Northfield, VT

Southwestern Vermont Psychology Consortium
Cynthia A. Murphy, Psy.D.
cynthia@memorydoc.org
(802) 447-1409
Bennington, VT

Veterans Affairs Medical Center
Robert Sokol, Ph.D.
Robert.Sokol@va.gov
(802) 295-9363 Ext. 5686
White River Junction, VT

Volunteer Opportunities

Virginia

Internships

College of William and Mary Counseling Center
Carina Sudarsky-Gleiser, Ph.D.
(757) 221-3620
cxsuda@wm.edu
Williamsburg, VA

VA Medical Center
Dana R. Holohan, Ph.D.
Dana.Holohan@va.gov
(540) 982-2463 Ext. 2934
Salem, VA

Virginia Treatment Center for Children
Julie A. Linker, Ph.D.
jalinker@vcu.edu
(804) 828-3129

Volunteer Opportunities